# WPA Tournament Sub-committee Annual Report 2021

The following is tournament sub-committee report for the 2020/2021 season.

## Wellington Championship fixtures

Tournament	Venue	Number of teams participating (previous year in brackets)	Winners
WPA Singles	Horowhenua	32 (38)	Lee Taffard (Hataitai)
WPA Doubles	Kapiti	26 (26)	Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
WPA Triples	Horowhenua	14 (11)	Myles Cowper (Hataitai) Murray Porter/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
WPA Senior Doubles	Horowhenua	24 (20)	Jan Haumaha and Judy Tyree (Horowhenua)
WPA Women's Singles	Horowhenua	22 (30)	Barbara Nicholls (Horowhenua)
WPA Mixed Doubles	Manawatu	32 (32)	Sharon Cannon (Khandallah) Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)

## Non-championship fixtures

Shooting Competition	Kapiti	9 (10)	Annick Le Guen (Kapiti) 26 points
Pointing Competition	Horowhenua	11 (13)	Claire Wilson (Wanganui East) 15 Points
Champion of Champion Singles	Silverstream	8 (8)	Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
Champion of Champion Doubles	Wanganui East	7 (7)	Dave Gatchell and Ann Hogg (Horowhenua)
Champion of Champion Triples	Kapiti	7 (8)	Moises Burgos/Dave Gwerder/Brian Smith (Upper Hutt)
WPA Women's Doubles	Manawatu	16 (20)	Claire Wilson / Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
WPA Women's Triples	Manawatu	9 (10)	Claire Bradburn/ Rachel Clarke (Silverstream) Ngaire Eriksen (Horowhenua)
WPA Open Triples	Otaki	20 (24)	Murray Porter, Michael Rocks (Khandallah) Brian Smith (Upper Hutt)
Interclub	Kapiti	A total of 16 (14 in 2020) teams from 10 clubs competed	Division 1 Manawatu 1 Division 2 Horowhenua 1

#### **Host Clubs:**

Thank you to all the clubs who have hosted tournaments in the past 12 months. Your support and willingness to allow your club facilities to be used is much appreciated by the sub-committee and players.

#### **Umpires:**

Once again, the WPA has completed a season with only a few tournaments having dedicated no-playing umpires. These are usually the tournaments where entry is restricted e.g., women's tournaments and champion of champion tournaments where we have had two or three umpire's volunteer to umpire because they were not eligible to play.

#### Interclub:

Each team consisted of 4 players (2 doubles combinations) but could also have up to 6 players in each team allowing for substitution of team members for each round. A win for a doubles combination was worth 1 point. The tie break method for the elimination stage if each club won a game each was the higher ranked team from the qualifying rounds advanced

The competition was played with 4 Swiss Draw qualification games (50 minutes plus 1 end) after which teams were split into 2 divisions of 8 in a single elimination find division 1 and division 2 winners.

Final positions were;

- 1. First division winners Manawatu 1
- 2. Wanganui East
- 3= Silverstream 1
- 3= Upper Hutt
- 5=. Naenae 1, Silverstream 2, Horowhenua 2, Kapiti 1

- 1 Second Division winners Horowhenua 1
- 2 Masterton.
- 3= Manawatu 2, Horowhenua 3.
- 5= Naenae 2, Otaki 1, Otaki 2, Kapiti 2

### Women's Tournaments:

For results see above.

The women's events were held in September 2020/October 2020 after being postponed due to Covid 19 The numbers may have been down because of the change of dates.

But I would like to thank the Women who supported these tournaments

Also, David Corley with helping umpire at Manawatu, plus the others who helped on the scoring table

Claire Wilson - Women's Co-ordinator.

**Tournament Sub-Committee**