# WPA Tournament Sub-committee Annual Report 2020

The following is tournament sub-committee report for the 2019/2020 season.

# Wellington Championship fixtures

Tournament	Venue	Number of teams participating (previous year in brackets)	Winners
WPA Singles	Horowhenua	38 (30)	Nico Toyne (Hataitai)
WPA Doubles	Kapiti	26 (25)	Sharon Cannon/Murray Porter (Khandallah
WPA Triples	Manawatu	11 (18)	Annick LeGuen (Kapiti) Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
WPA Senior Doubles	Otaki	20 (23)	Margaret Pomana and Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
WPA Women's Singles		Not held due to Covid-19 (30)	
WPA Mixed Doubles	Manawatu	26 (32)	Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti) Lee Taffard (Hataitai)

## Non-championship fixtures

Shooting Competition	Kapiti	10 (6)	Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
Pointing Competition	Horowhenua	13 (16)	Claire Bradburn
			(Silverstream)
Champion of Champion	Kapiti	7 (8)	Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)
Singles			
Champion of Champion	Naenae	7 (6)	Dave Gatchell and Ann Hogg
Doubles			(Horowhenua)
Champion of Champion	Horowhenua	8 (8)	Dave Gatchell, Allan Hall and
Triples			Ann Hogg (Horowhenua)
WPA Women's Doubles		Not held due to Covid-19	
WPA Women's Triples		Not held due to Covid-19	
WPA Open Triples	Otaki	24 (22)	Murray Porter, Michael
			Rocks (Khandallah) Brian
			Smith (Upper Hutt)
Interclub	Kapiti	A total of 14 teams from	Division 1 Upper Hutt
		9 clubs competed	Division 2 Masterton

### <u> Host Clubs:</u>

Thank you to all the clubs who have hosted tournaments in the past 12 months. Your support and willingness to allow your club facilities to be used is much appreciated by the sub-committee and players.

## **Umpires:**

The WPA continues to run our championships without dedicated no-playing umpires. This situation needs to be rectified as soon as possible by the appointment of a Regional Coordinator for Umpires who would be able to concentrate on the tutoring and mentoring of prospective future umpires.

### Interclub:

Each team consisted of 4 players (2 doubles combinations) but could also have up to 6 players in each team allowing for substitution of team members for each round. A win for a doubles combination was worth 1 point. If the doubles matches were drawn 1 each the points differential over both games was used to find the winner who received 2 points.

The competition was played with 4 Swiss Draw qualification games after which teams were split into 3 sections of 4 and 1 section of 2. Places 1 to 4 played for the division one title. Places 5 to 8 played off for 5<sup>th</sup> to 8<sup>th</sup> positions and teams 9 to 12 played off for the division two title. Teams 13 and 14 played for 13<sup>th</sup> and 14<sup>th</sup> places

Final positions were;

- 1. First division winners Upper Hutt
- 2. Naenae
- 3= Kapiti 1
- 3= Horowhenua 1
- 5. Silverstream 1
- 6. Wanganui East
- 7= Kapiti 2
- 7= Horowhenua 2

- 9. **Second Division winners** Masterton
- 10. Manawatu
- 11= Otaki 1
- 11= Kapiti 3
- 13. Silverstream 2
- 14. Otaki 2

# WPA Open Triples:

This tournament attracted 24 entries which was two more than in 2019. This tournament has continued to increase in numbers year by year.

## WPA Mixed Doubles:

Although there were 6 fewer entries than the previous year, this was still a popular tournament. Michelle Maxwell and Lee Taffard achieved a repeat of their win in the inaugural tournament.

## Jacques Cochonnet Trophy:

In the past 12 months Upper Hutt defeated Masterton then went on to lose to Naenae. Naenae then lost to Kapiti who have had 4 successful defences before Covid-19 curtailed the competition.

## Women's Tournaments:

Unfortunately, due to the outbreak of Covid-19 all the women's tournaments scheduled to be played in this 2019/2020 season were postponed. It is hoped to play them as soon as a suitable date can be allocated after the return of normal play.

Claire Wilson - Women's Co-ordinator.

### **Inter-Region Matches:**

Due to Hawkes Bay not being able to field a team in 2019 this annual fixture was cancelled.

Wellington travelled south to Mosgiel for the annual Tri-Star tournament. The team found the going difficult on day one and several games that could have gone either way unfortunately went against us and Wellington

ended the day in 4<sup>th</sup> position. However, a fantastic rally on the Sunday saw Wellington overtake Southern Gold to finish in 3<sup>rd</sup> place only 5 points behind Southern Blue. Canterbury maintained their slight lead from day one to win back the trophy.

Wellington hosted Auckland in the Chanticleer Trophy match held at Manawatu. Wellington won the open team competition 34 – 14 and Auckland headed off wellington in the senior division but Wellington had an overall advantage of 55-41 to win the Chanticleer back after 3 successive losses.

**Tournament Sub-Committee**