Tournament Sub-Committee Report May 2019

Since the last WPA meeting there have been the following tournaments run by the tournament subcommittee:

WPA Triples: This tournament was held at Otaki on 16th and 17th February and attracted 18 entries which was 4 more than 2018.

The results were:

Championship - Grant Bray (Kapiti), Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt), Lee Taffard (Hataitai)

Championship Consolation: First Place: Paul Anderson (Wanganui East), Trish Smart (Manawatu), Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East),

Plate winners - Kathy Gatford, Lynne Shepherd, Tony Gatford

Bowl winners - Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Debby Butler (Kapiti)/Monica Smiler (Naenae)

WPA Mixed Doubles: This tournament was held at the Manwatu Petanque Club on 10th March. It attracted a maximum field of 32 teams. It was the first time this tournament has been held by the WPA.

Players were invited to give feed-Back on the tournament. From the feed-back received it was obvious that it was a popular tournament and that it should remain at this stage as a one-day tournament and the venue should be Manawatu as there were 19 players from Wanganui East, some of whom we have not seen playing in WPA fixtures before.

The results were:

Championship: Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti) and Lee Taffard (Hataitai)

Plate: First Place: Brett Maguire (Kapiti) and Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)

Bowl: Barbara Nicholls (Horowhenua) Alan Taylor (Kapiti)

Bowl Consolation: David Corley and Noeline Corley (Manawatu)

WPA Women's Doubles: This tournament was held at Wanganui and attracted 20 entries which was an increase of 2 over the previous year.

The winners were Barbara Nichols and Carleen Fitzgerald (Horowhenua)

Plate winners were Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East) and Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)

Bowl Winners were Christine Daykin and Susan Gibson (Manawatu)

Bowl Consolation winners were Ngaire Eriksen (Horowhenua) and Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)

Saucer winners were Wendy Lawson and Carol Tong

WPA Women's Triples: This tournament was also played at the Wanganui East Club. It attracted10 entries which was 2 more than in 2018.

The winners were Shirley M^{ac}Donald (Otaki) Ann Hogg (Otaki) and Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East)

Plate winners were Christine Daykin, Trish Smart and Pauline Foxall (all manawatu)

Bowl winners were Ann Peck, Mary Joblin and Sheryl Parslow (All Wanganui East)

WPA Women's Singles Championship: This tournament was held at the Manawatu Petanque Club and attracted 30 entries which was the same as in 2018.

Winner was Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)

Plate winner was Noeline Corley (Manawatu)

Bowl winners was Lee-Ann Bartrum (Wanganui East)

Bowl Consolation winner was Christine Daykin (Manawatu)

Graeme Morris and Claire Wilson – Tournament Sub-committee.