WPA Tournament Sub-committee Annual Report 2019

The following is tournament sub-committee report for the 2018/2019 season.

Wellington Championship fixtures

| Tournament | Venue | Number of teams participating (previous year in brackets) | Winners |
|-----------------------|------------|---|---|
| WPA Singles | Kapiti | 30 (38) | Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua) |
| WPA Doubles | Horowhenua | 25 (21) | Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt) Lee Taffard (Hataitai) |
| WPA Triples | Otaki | 18 (14) | Grant Bray (Kapiti) Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt) Lee Taffard (Hataitai) |
| WPA Senior Doubles | Kapiti | 23 (24) | Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua) Ann Hogg (Otaki) |
| WPA Women's Singles | Manawatu | 30 (30) | Claire Bradburn (Silverstream) |
| Shooting Championship | Horowhenua | (6) 15 | Michael Rocks (Khandallah) |
| Pointing Championship | Kapiti | 16 (New Competition) | Nico Toyne (Hataitai) |

Non-championship fixtures

| Champion of Champion Singles | Naenae | 8 (7) | Colin Gooch (Upper Hutt) |
|---------------------------------|---------------|---|---|
| Champion of Champion Doubles | Horowhenua | 6 (4) | Enoka Smiler, Monica Smiler (Naenae) |
| Champion of Champion Triples | Manawatu | 8 (6) | Grant Bray, Annick LeGuen, Tony Gatford Kapiti |
| WPA Women's Doubles | Wanganui East | 20 (18) | Barbara Nichols / Carleen Fitzgerald (Horowhenua) |
| WPA Women's Triples | Wanganui East | 10 (8) | Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East) Ann Hogg / Shirley M ^{ac} Donald (Otaki) |
| WPA Open Triples | Otaki | 22 (21) | Murray Porter, Michael Rocks (Khandallah) Brian Smith (Upper Hutt) |
| Interclub | Kapiti | 8 teams from 8 Clubs in Division 1. 6 teams from 5 clubs in Division 2. | Division 1 Kapiti. Division 2 Horowhenua |

Host Clubs:

Thank you to all the clubs who have hosted tournaments in the past 12 months. Your support and willingness to allow your club facilities to be used is much appreciated by the sub-committee and players.

Umpires:

Due to the Retirement of jack Gazzard most WPA events did not have a non-playing umpire. This situation will not change until a suitable and fair reimbursement policy is established.

David Corley umpired all three women's tournaments and the champion of champion triples. Graeme Morris umpired in the champion of champion singles.

Interclub:

The interclub had 8 clubs represented in the first division and 6 teams from 5 clubs in the second division. This was one club less than in 2018.

Division one was run in 2 pools of 4 based on finishing positions in 2018 followed by semi-finals and finals. Division two was a round robin pool of 6 teams.

WPA Open Triples:

This tournament attracted 22 entries which was one more than in 2018. The move from Manawatu to Otaki is attracting more entries due to the more central position of the Otaki club.

WPA Mixed Doubles:

This was a new tournament and proved to be a very popular tournament with a maximum of 32 entries. A survey of players at the tournament showed that the majority of those that who responded see the tournament as a one-day tournament and the venue (Manawatu) proved to be a strong point in the number of entries, particularly from Wanganui East and Manawatu.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy:

There have been three holders of this trophy in the last 12 months. Otaki won the trophy from Hataitai in June 2018 and defended it 5 times before losing it to Masterton in November. Masterton withstood 4 challenges before Upper Hutt took the trophy for the fourth time.

Women's Tournaments:

Thank you to all the women who entered the women's tournaments. A total of 100 players over 3 tournaments. It is very pleasing to see the numbers of entries increasing over the years. Also, a big thank you to David Corley for umpiring in all 3 women's tournaments.

Claire Wilson - Women's Co-ordinator.

Inter-Region Matches:

Wellington regained 2 of the 3 trophies played for during the year. They soundly defeated Hawkes Bay and regained the Hawkes Bay Challenge Trophy and also regained the Tri-Star trophy in a very close competition. Auckland defeated Wellington for the third year in a row.

Thanks once again to Claire Bradburn for her continued support with arranging trophies and winner's shirts where applicable.

Graeme Morris and Claire Wilson Tournament Sub-Committee