Wellington Petanque Association

Tournament Sub-Committee Report for the Period September – October 2015

Since the last WPA meeting the following tournament under the jurisdiction of the WPA Tournament Sub-Committee have been held:

Regional Singles Championship:

The regional Singles Championship was held at Horowhenua on 19th/20th September.

There were originally 42 entries but illness reduced the number to 36 before the start of the tournament. This was an increased on the 28 teams that took part in 2014.

After the qualifying rounds the tournament was divided into top 16 for the championship and plate and the next 16 to the bowl and bowl consolation. The remaining 4 teams played a round robin with timed games of 60 minutes plus 2 ends.

Results:

Champion – Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)

Runner-Up – Marc Khull (Manawatu)

Third equal – Nicolas Jegousse (Upper Hutt) and Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)

Plate winner –Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)

Runner-Up - Steve Frampton (Hataitai)

Third equal - Christine Strichen (Wanganui East) and Ann Hogg (Otaki)

Bowl Winner – Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East) Runner –Up Brett Maguire (Kapiti)

Bowl Consolation – Winner Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East) Runner-Up Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)

Consolante – Winner Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)

Champion of Champion Singles:

Held at Otaki Petanque Club. There were 8 entries.

The winner was Alan Taylor (Kapiti) and the Runner -Up was Colin Gooch (Upper Hutt)

Regional Doubles Championship:

Held at Kapiti Petanque Club on 17th and 18th October. There were 28 entries which was the same as in 2014.

The results were:

Champions: Grant Bray (Kapiti) and Nicolas Jegousse (Upper Hutt)

Runners-Up Shirley MacDonald (Otaki) and Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)

Third equal Brett Maguire (Kapiti) and Tony Simpson (Wanganui East) / Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua) and Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)

Plate: Winners- Christine Strichen (Wanganui East) and Claire Wilson (Masterton)

Runners-Up Steve Frampton (Hataitai) and Alan Taylor (Kapiti)

Bowl winner – Lew Gill (Horowhenua) and Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)

Runners-Up – Barb and Murray Johnston (Masterton)

WPA Shooting Championship: This championship was held in conjunction with the WPA Doubles Championship. There were 10 entries and this compares with 13 entries in 2014.

The winner was Michael Rocks (Khandallah) with Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East) Runner-Up.

This is the 4th time Michael has won the championship.

Champion of Champion Doubles:

This tournament was hosted by Silverstream and there were 8 entries. This was the same as the previous year.

The winners were Barb Johnston and Graeme Morris (Masterton)

Runners-Up were Annick Le Guen and Brett Maguire (Kapiti)

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy:

In September Hataitai defeated Wanganui East to take the trophy back to Wellington City. They withstood a challenge from Silverstream and the round has come to an end. A new draw cannot be made until the next WPA Meeting on 19th November. This means there will be a five and a half week gap without challenges and the 31 days for the next challenge will start after the draw has been made on 19th November. So in fact there may not be a challenge accepted until February 2016 given that the defender does not have to accept challenges in December and January. It is the Tournament Sub-Committee's opinion that there needs to be a change to the rules to allow the draw for a round to be made in at appropriate time and place other than a general meeting of the WPA clubs.

WPA Tournament Sub-Committee.